Opening night ceremonies and lighting of the Christmas Park was held on the Sunday after Thanksgiving, Nov. 26 at 6 p.m., as part of the new Winter Wonderland event held in Historic Williamston, SC.
The Christmas Park has been a holiday attraction in the upstate since 1958. It is a joint effort by local citizens and the town to convey the Christmas spirit through a unique collection of holiday lights and displays.
Each year, local businesses, churches, civic groups, the Springwater Committee and The Town of Williamston contribute by placing original displays and 1000s of lights in Mineral Spring Park.
Visitors come from all over the upstate and surrounding states to circle slowly along the drive or walk the paths viewing lighted displays. A visit with Santa in the Boy Scout Hut is a treat for the children, and parents!
The Pelzer-Williamston Jaycees are credited with originating the Christmas Park idea 59 years ago. They saw it as a “Christmas parade that stands still.” The idea soon became the local tradition that area residents look forward to during the Christmas season.
The lighting of the park includes the opening of Deck the Halls in Williamston’s Municipal Center.
The annual event has become a holiday tradition for the town and features beautifully decorated Christmas trees in the main hallways of the Municipal Center. It will be open to the public for viewing following the lighting of the park and during regular business hours through the holidays.
Santa’s schedule for the Scout hut will be 6 pm to 9 pm November 26 and 30, December 1-3, December 7-10 and December 14-23, 2023.
The Williamston Christmas Parade will be held at 1 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 2. The parade route will begin at East Main Street and Hamilton Street and end at the traffic light at West Main and Academy Street.